Site icon NewsVaani

South Africa’s highest total, SA vs SL, 2023.

SA vs SL

In the fourth match SA vs SL of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 played between South Africa and Sri Lanka in Delhi, the South African batting lineup astonished everyone again and hammered the Sri Lankan bowlers to post a total of 428-5 (50).

Image Source: @ cricketworldcup

In the first inning, while batting de Kock, van der Dussen, and Markram made a century; de Kock was caught out by Dhananjaya de Silva on the delivery of Matheesha Pathirana when he was at 100 runs; van der Dussen made stunning 108 runs includes 13 fours & 2 sixes; Markram surprises every on with his bat by hitting 106 runs in just 54 balls. His total 106 runs include 4 fours and 3 sixes.

This is how the South African cricket team surprised cricket lover with their unpredictable way of batting. Here are the highest team totals in a World Cup (ODI):

  1. 428/5 – SA vs SL, Delhi, 2023.
  2. 417/6 – AUS vs AFG, Perth 2015
  3. 413/5 – IND vs BER, Port of Spain 2007
  4. 411/4 – SA vs IRE, Canberra 2015
  5. 408/5 – SA vs WI, Sydney, 2015

This World Cup is going to show you the reflection of the short format of cricket as many teams are going to get simply hammered. We see this in the inaugural match- between England and New Zealand wherein the two batsmen Rachin Ravindra and Conway (152 runs) hammered the English bowler and New Zealand won the match with just the loss of one wicket.

RSA Playing XI in the Match SA vs SL

  1. Quinton de Kock (WK), WK-Batter
  2. Temba Bavuma (C), Batter
  3. Rassie van der Dussen, Batter
  4. Aiden Markram, Batter
  5. Heinrich Klaasen, WK-Batter
  6. David Miller, Batter
  7. Marco Jansen, Bowling Allrounder
  8. Gerald Coetzee, Bowler
  9. Keshav Maharaj, Bowler
  10. Lungi Ngidi, Bowler
  11. Kagiso Rabada, Bowler

SL Playing XI in the Match SA vs SL

  1. Kusal Perera, WK-Batter
  2. Pathum Nissanka, Batter
  3. Kusal Mendis (WK), WK-Batter
  4. Sadeera Samarawickrama, WK-Batter
  5. Charith Asalanka, Batting Allrounder
  6. Dhananjaya de Silva, Batting Allrounder
  7. Dasun Shanaka (C), Batting Allrounder
  8. Dunith Wellalage, Bowler
  9. Matheesha Pathirana, Bowler
  10. Dilshan Madushanka, Bowler
  11. Kasun Rajitha, Bowler
Exit mobile version