Site icon NewsVaani

Asia Cup 2023

Asia Cup 2023

Asia Cup-2023 is being organized by the Asian Cricket Council and hosted by Pakistan and Sri Lanka Jointly from 30 August to 17 September 2023. For the first time in Asia Cup history, two countries are hosting Asia Cup jointly. It is pertinent to note that when the ACC Committee selected Pakistan as the host of the Asia Cup for 2023, India was initially reluctant to participate in the tournament as all the matches were to be organized in Pakatan.

ASIA Cup without India -Pakistan matches do not seem very interesting for the cricket lover. To make the India -Pakistan Matches happen, the ACC committee decided to go for joint hosting with Pakistan and Sri Lanka. It is a 50-over ODI  tournament.

You can watch the live match between India and Pakistan on 02 September 2023 @ Clicking here

Teams in the Current edition of the Asia Cup 2023:

The current edition of the Asia Cup 2023 began with the inaugural match between Pakistan and Nepal on 30 August 2023 and Pakistan beat Nepal with a huge margin of more than 200 runs. If we talk about it more preciously, it is 238 runs.  It is to be noted that Nepal is the country that is participating first time in the Asia Cup.

The total team (6) to participate in the Current edition of the Asia Cup 2023 is as follows:

Total Matches and Schedule for Asia Cup 2023:  

A total of 13 matches are to be played at different international cricket stadium venues in two countries between 30 August to 17 September 2023 and most of the matches India will play outside of Pakistan. The format for the Asia Cup -2023 is group and knockout stages. The schedule of matches is tabulated below:

August 30, WednesdayPakistan vs. NepalMultan Cricket Stadium, MultanPakistan won by 238 runs
August 31, ThursdayBangladesh vs. Sri LankaPallekele International Cricket Stadium, PallekeleSri Lanka won by 5 wickets
September 2, SaturdayPakistan vs. IndiaPallekele International Cricket Stadium, Pallekele
September 3, SundayBangladesh vs. AfghanistanGaddafi Stadium, Lahore
September 4, MondayIndia vs. NepalPallekele International Cricket Stadium, Pallekele
September 5, TuesdayAfghanistan vs. Sri LankaGaddafi Stadium, Lahore
September 6, WednesdayA1 vs. B2, Super Force, 1st matchGaddafi Stadium, Lahore
September 9, SaturdayB1 vs. B2, Super Force, 2nd matchR.Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
September 10, SundayA1 vs. A2, Super Force, 3rd matchR.Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
September 12, TuesdayA2 vs. B1, Super Force, 4th MatchR.Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
September 14, ThursdayA1 vs. B1, Super Force, 5th MatchR.Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
September 15, FridayA2 vs. B2, Super Force, 6th MatchR.Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
September 17, SundayTBC vs. TBC, FinalR.Premadasa Stadium, Colombo

Winner so far of Asia Cup:

India is the country that won the most Asia Cup trophies (6) in the ODI format and (1) in T20 format. Sri Lanka is the country that won the second-highest Asia Cup trophy in ODI. The brief of the trophy won by the countries, who had been captain along with a format for a different year from 1984 are as follows:

YearWinnerCaptainFormatCountry Flag
1984IndiaSunil GavaskarODIIndia
1986Sri LankaDuleep MendisODISri Lanka
1988IndiaMohammad AzharuddinODIIndia
1990-91IndiaMohammad AzharuddinODIIndia
1995IndiaMohammad AzharuddinODIIndia
1997Sri LankaArjuna RanatungaODI
2000PakistanMoin KhanODI
2004Sri LankaMarvan AtapattuODISri Lanka
2008Sri LankaMahela JayawardeneODISri Lanka
2010IndiaMS DhoniODIIndia
2012PakistanMisbah-ul-HaqODIPakistan flag
2014Sri LankaAngelo MathewsT20Sri Lanka
2016IndiaMS DhoniT20India
2018IndiaRohit SharmaODIIndia
2022Sri LankaDasun shanakaT20Sri Lanka

Most runs made in Asia Cup till 01.09.2023:             

 Sanath Jayasuriya, a great batsman, and wicketkeeper held the title of making the most (1220) runs in an Asia Cup in the ODI format, and King Kohli is the most run-making batsman in T20 format.

Most wickets taken in Asia Cup till 01.09.2023:

One of the great spinners in the cricket world, Muttiah Muralitharan has taken the most wickets (30) in an Asia Cup in the One Day International (ODI) cricket format, however, Bhuvneshwar Kumar from India holds the title of taking the highest wickets (13) in T20 format of Asia cup.

If we look at the year “2023” is very important for cricket lovers as there are many international and mega cricketing events taking place in the year 2023. The World Cup is going to happen after Asia Cup

A brief of Asia Cup and Regulating Body

Asia Cup is a cricket tournament administrated by an organization known as the Asian Cricket Council. They are essentially hosted by one of the member countries on an ACC rotation basis. Member countries of ACC are as follows:

ACC Members with ICC Full Membership (5)

o.CountryBoard or OrganizationMembership TypeYear of Membership
1IndiaBoard of Control for Cricket in IndiaFull Members1983
2PakistanPakistan Cricket BoardFull Members1983
3Sri LankaSri Lanka CricketFull Members1983
4BangladeshBangladesh Cricket BoardFull Members1983
5AfghanistanAfghanistan Cricket BoardFull Members2003

ACC Members with ICC Associate Membership (18)

No.CountryBoard or OrganizationMembership TypeYear of Membership
6NepalCricket Association of NepalAssociate (ODI status)1990
7OmanOman Cricket BoardAssociate (ODI status)2000
8UAEEmirates Cricket BoardAssociate (ODI status)1984
9ThailandCricket Association of ThailandAssociate1996
10BahrainBahrain Cricket AssociationAssociate2003
11BhutanBhutan Cricket Council BoardAssociate2001
12CambodiaCricket Association of CambodiaAssociate2012
13ChinaChinese Cricket AssociationAssociate2004
14Hong KongCricket Hong KongAssociate1983
15IranIslamic Republic of Iran Cricket AssociationAssociate2003
16KuwaitKuwait Cricket AssociationAssociate2005
17MalaysiaMalaysian Cricket AssociationAssociate1983
18MaldivesCricket Control Board of MaldivesAssociate1996
19MyanmarMyanmar Cricket FederationAssociate2005
20QatarQatar Cricket AssociationAssociate2000
21Saudi ArabiaSaudi Arabian Cricket FederationAssociate2003
22SingaporeSingapore Cricket AssociationAssociate1983
23TajikistanTajikistan Cricket FederationAssociate2012

ACC Members without ICC Membership (2)

No.CountryBoard or OrganizationMembership TypeYear of Membership
24Chinese TaipeiChinese Taipei Cricket Association2012
25BruneiBrunei Darussalam National Cricket Association1996

What is the duration of Asia Cup 2023?

Asia Cup for the year 2023 is to be played between 30 August to 17 September 2023

Which edition of the Asia Cup is going to take place in the year 2023?

The 16th edition of Asia Cup 2023 is to be organized at various venues in Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

Who is hosting Asia Cup 2023?

Pakistan and Sri Lanka are Jointly hosting the Asia Cup for the year 2023.

How many Matches are to be played in Asia Cup 2023?

A total of 13 matches would be played in group and knockout stages.

How many countries are playing in Asia Cup 2023?

Total 6 countries (Afghanistan, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh). Nepal is participating for the first time in the Asia Cup tournament.

Source of the above information: and

Exit mobile version